The Rosary of the Seven Sorrows

The Rosary of the Seven Sorrows (also known as the Servite Rosary, or Dolor Rosary) is, like all rosaries, a meditation on the mysteries of God's love as reflected in the life of Jesus and Mary. This rosary consists of Seven Mysteries or sorrows. Each mystery is introduced by a meditation to guide our reflection as we pray the Our Father and Seven Hail Marys, which are recited in remembrance of the Seven Sorrows of Mary:

  1. The prophecy of Simeon
  2. The flight into Egypt
  3. The loss of the Child Jesus
  4. Mary meets Jesus carrying the cross
  5. The crucifixion
  6. Mary receives the body of Jesus from the cross
  7. The body of Jesus is placed in the tomb

The Rosary is concluded with three Hail Mary's, affirming our desire to model our lives on the example of the life and faith of Mary.